Green Knickers

G is for green knickers

Memories of my schooldays wearing the dreaded green knickers for gym class.

Green Knickers

Bottle green knickers for p.e.
Scarlet in case anyone would see
Your scaldy legs out in the cold
Winter or Summer,
We wore what we were told
Runing down to the basketball court
P.E. Teacher never gave a thought
To pubescent teenagers and how they felt
Sure she’d let you run out in your pelt
Wednesday afternoon was the worst
Mortified if I was first
To get down to the playing fields
Where the boys from the Comp had their eyes peeled
To see us in our underwear
Our P.E. Teacher didn’t care
No track suits for us back in the day
No time for modesty when we had to play
Hockey or rounders or jumping hurdles
To think of it now just makes my blood curdle
The finishing touch was a white aertex shirt
Some lucky girls owned a wraparound skirt
‘Time of the month’we got no reprieve
The mortification you wouldn’t believe
As we jogged round the pitch at the end of class
Trying our best to cover our ass
If I had my time back,there’s no way I’d be seen
Out in public wearing knickers of green.

gym-photo

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in April AtoZ Blogging challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Green Knickers

  1. Michael Topliss says:

    Wonderful poem,wonderful knickers!

  2. Kres says:

    I thoroughly endorse traditional gym knickers they provide a good cover, fit and freedom for movement. You maybe get a bum sweat mark is evident with effort put into the sport played, and understood. If every one is wearing them the team feeling must be there. Appreciation by others is also a real point. The laundry basket at school was often a place that was a step apart.

  3. Kres says:

    Only thing missing is the cane across green knickers to good affect

  4. Loneranger says:

    Great poem and great memories.
    Yes, as a teenage boy we spent a lot of time lying on the other side of a boundary hedge trying to catch sight of the bottle green knickers clad bottoms of the convent girls from our neighbouring school. Part of the ecstasy for us was that they all had wrap around skirts but the flash of a fine pantied bottom as they played hockey or whatever was worth the tease. The other satisfying part was the fact that girls were clearly aware that we were out there somewhere and were trying not to give us that satisfying vision. There were always plenty of worried and searching looks from the lovelies into the undergrowth as they arrived and during the excercise. But we always got our full eyeful in the end. I seem to remember quite a few skirts falling off during games (a systems error in the design- thank God!)- now that was a real bonus!!! Toward the end of a match or training session we sometimes got bolder and would whoo-haa and wolf whistle from our hide-out as a favorite girl provided a thrill close to our position- or a particularly tasty flash o green knicker was provided. Sounds like perversion now- was then too maybe, if you were some of the girls. But that’s what teenage boys do- and I’m quite sure some other of the girls secretly enjoyed it too. We thought they all looked gorgeous and sexy. Anyway as William Woodsworth said- Ah bliss it was that morn to be alive. But to be young was very heaven….

  5. Knickerslover says:

    Oh what lovely memories of school days all those years ago. The beautiful sight of those gorgeous bottle green knickers on sports days, netball games etc, It still turns me on just thinking about them. I would so love to buy five pairs of size 16 bottle green knickers for my own pleasure, here’s hoping!!.

  6. Kres says:

    I remember at school we were right next door to a girls school and the girls use to wear navy gym knickers for sports and we were for ever admiring their sweaty bums in them. However 3 bus stops up the road was a catholic girls school and their uniform was green and it didn’t take long to know that mthey wore green knickers because when they went up the stairs at the back of the bus we took every chance to look up their skirts. It was worth walking those three stops to get on behind the girls and we would foollow them up the stairs and if we were lucky they would get jammed half way and some of us got our heads up their skirts and got a sniffs of those green knickers – lovely. However one of their teachers caught us and sent a report back to our school’s headmaster. I knew about it when was summoned to the headmasters office and got six strokes of the cane and the marks lasted for two weeks. It was worth it a got many an erection afterwards thinking about it. Pity I can’t repeat it. – Any offers

  7. Dave says:

    In the school is went to this was what the girls were forced to wear You say you hated them. Well us boys loved you in them. It’s amazing to me that a local school near me only recently within last 10 years has stopped girls having to do cross country in said knickers. Trauma in another 10 years for those girls. Regrets from me . Keep posting please

  8. David Sargent says:

    I attended an all boys school near Manchester where the boys school was next to girls school this was late 60’s

    The boys wore white shorts and thick woolen style long sleeved shirts for out door sports. Over at the girls school the girls wore airtex white tops which when damp became see through. As it was 60’so they wore navy blue knickers and very short pleated skirts. So when they bent you could see their knickers . What fun we had looking at their nubile bodies .

  9. JB says:

    The odd thing is … I first encountered “gym knickers” when I joined the local athletics club in 1981, at the advanced age of 13.

    The club strip was blue and white, and the girls in the club all wore royal blue gym knickers. They called them “knicker shorts” … and I just assumed that they were shorts cut to the same sort of shape as a pair of knickers (in contrast to the blue “football” shorts which the boys wore) … and it never even OCCURRED to me that they wouldn’t be wearing their regular knickers under them, just as young boys wore their regular underwear under their “football” shorts.

  10. Jade says:

    Apologies to all girls who were on the receiving end of green knicker embarrassment from us boys. But this may help. I had to wear them myself with my kilt, for all occasions including the school dance. In a careless moment I volunteered to be a “prize exhibit” and forty girls got green knicker group therapy. Only after a drumroll, spotlight and two minutes of laughing, squealing and spluttering, do you really understand gk embarrassment, multiplied by forty. Maybe I could offer similar delights to other girls, now grown-up. Trish?

  11. Kiltie says:

    Yes indeed I had to wear a kilt from about age 6 and when I got to my teens it was quite embarrassing to have the ubiquitous bottle green knickers under the kilt. They were great to wear with a kilt but the age old question about whats worn under the kilt was often answered by one of the cheekier girls lifting up the back of our kilts to find out! I guess therefore that the girls were sometimes on the other end of the attention. Boys in kilts were never great at being discreet wearing kilts either so it just took a moment to accidentally sit down carelessly without sweeping the pleats and you knickers were on show to the world. Im afraid I was caught out that way many many times. As a matter of interest I also had navy blue knickers and maroon ones for kilt wear and my mum tried to soften the blow for me by calling them my ‘kilt pants’. Thankyou Trish for the memories of those days and Ive got to say I also did enjoy seeing the girls in their knickers for pe and sports. Also their grey pleated school skirts wernt all that good at concealing their more secret areas.

    • David Paul Sargent says:

      Agree

      On Wed, 10 Nov 2021, 16:13 Trish Nugent Writer., wrote:

      > Kiltie commented: “Yes indeed I had to wear a kilt from about age 6 and > when I got to my teens it was quite embarrassing to have the ubiquitous > bottle green knickers under the kilt. They were great to wear with a kilt > but the age old question about whats worn under the kilt” >

Leave a comment