Hospital Queues

H is for Hospital queues

trauma-and-emergency-ward

I sat and joined the endless queue
There was nothing else to do
but take a seat outside, praying
for the pain to subside
I suffer in silence, make no fuss
Chat to others who waited
for hours for a nurse
Listen to tales of how long they’d been.

Waiting patiently to be seen by elusive doctors,
Drinking coffee from paper cups
Wishing the queue would hurry up
The first hour wasn’t bad
Two hours,I think I’ve been had
After three hours
I enquire ‘whats the delay?’
Four hours pass,
We’re into another day
Tried to sleep on the bench
but fail
six hours later, ask for pain relief
to no avail.
‘You have to see the doctor first’
‘Some hope of that’
I cursed a system that makes you wait
and wait…and wait…and wait… and wait
Eight hours. it’s no longer a joke,
Give in to temptation
I go for a smoke as I watch the
hours go by without a sign
of being called.
You wouldn’t want to be dyin’!
So much for being on the urgent list
The only one seen was a scanger
who came in pissed…
Forced his way to see the nurse
Came out with right arm bandaged,
slagging the rest of us,
I felt like chasing him out the door
Kicking him to the floor,
Breaking his other arm…
I gladly would have done him harm!
I was turning into a demented heap
I needed sleep
Ten hours, I hit my brick wall
Still no sign of getting the call
to see a doctor,
Not even close,
No one there to diagnose

Twelve hours, I’ve had enough
Demand attention, gotta get tough
‘Not much longer’,says the nurse
I was fit to burst
I wait another hour,too sick to leave
When I hear my name
I cant believe, the wait is over
I’m led to a cubicle to lie down
To wait until the doctor finishes his rounds 😦

casualty waiting room

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in April AtoZ Blogging challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

