Could it be forever

David Cassidy 1

 

We got the bus into town every Saturday.  We tried on clothes and shoes  that we had no money to buy. We tested lipsticks and eye shadows in Woolworth and flicked through  magazines before putting them back on the shelves.

We were both huge David Cassidy fans.  We drooled over him as Keith Partridge in ‘The Partridge Family’ He was our dream guy. We knew all of the words to his songs. Our favourites were ‘Could it be forever and ‘I think I love you’. When Jackie magazine had a free poster of David Cassidy inside to celebrate his birthday; I got the last one in the shop. My friend was devastated so I let her borrow the poster ‘just for a while’. I never got it back. She said her da ripped it off the wall and threw it in the bin, because they weren’t allowed hang posters on the good wallpaper.

I went to call for her one day and saw the poster still hanging, but she insisted it was hers, said she’d got a copy of Jackie in another shop.I was so naive, I believed her, but I did wonder why her da didn’t rip down that one. She promised me that I could borrow it someday, but that day never came. In the words of Davids songs I think ‘I am a clown’ for believing her. Or maybe I was just a ‘Daydreamer’.

We remained best friends through our teens, but nothing lasts forever and we drifted apart as we got older. We made new friends, went our separate ways. We grew up, got married, had kids of our own. I gave mine lacko for hanging posters on their walls, over ‘the good wallpaper’.

I woke up this morning in my old bedroom in my mothers house to the news that David Cassidy had died.  I thought of my old friend and laughed at the memory of the borrowed poster. I wondered if her memory was the same as mine. Part of my childhood died today with David…but I will always cherish the memories.

Rest in peace David. I wish it could have been forever…

 

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in memories, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Could it be forever

  1. Kathryn Crowley says:

    Our hero! Such innocent times Trish. He was dishy though….

Leave a comment