You don’t bring me flowers

Y (1)

 

Dedicated to Bobby from Janine

(Shoving Connie around the green)

 

I never brought you flowers

Or a get well card

After your operation

As you lay in a hospital ward

I do feel very guilty

As you’ve always been there for me

On Mondays when I set up class

For my little Drama Beans

At Christmas you are always here

When you dress up as Santa

You make us laugh at your silly jokes

And your everyday banter

You know you always cheer me up

When we sing our songs

Even though you haven’t a clue

You get all the words wrong

‘You never brought me flowers’ you said

‘You know they’re cheap in Dealz’

‘No one buys them for me either’ I said

‘So I know exactly how you feel’

But Bobby I will promise you

When you are dead and gone

I’ll buy you those flowers in Dealz

You know the plastic ones?

I’ll drape your cross with rosary beads

Your resting place I’ll mark

I’ll make sure that they’re solar

So they’ll glow in the dark

Although the flowers wont be fresh

They’ll  survive all weathers

And like my memories for you

They will last forever

plastic roses

 

 

 

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in AtoZ 2016 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

