Sarah, our wonder woman :)

S (1)

Today I’m sharing again, a poem I wrote in December after my good friend Sarah died. Sarah had a great sense of humour and was always up for the craic and a laugh. This actually happened after her funeral when we were on the way to the club for her wake. I never thought I’d laugh that day but myself and  my friend Ciara really did laugh until we cried. I think Sarah did that, and so she is part of my AtoZ of crazy poems. Sure she’d have to be!  Miss you Sarah. xxx

 

Wonder Woman on the Tallaght By-Pass

 

Storm Desmond came in December

A day we will always remember

Our mood as grey as the darkened skies

A day we said our sad goodbyes

On our journey, few words were spoken

We were feeling so heartbroken

But, as we pulled up to the lights

We saw one of the funniest sights

An aul one fell down on her arse

In the middle of the Tallaght by-pass

She left her trolley with its heavy load

To chase two lampshades down the road

She caught one and we shouted ‘yay’

But then to our utter dismay

The other by the wind was whipped

And the poor aul sod she tripped

The wind raged around her at such a pace

It knocked her down onto her face

She lay there in a state of shock

…All that we could do was gawk

From the far side of the carriageway

On that stormy Saturday

We shouted but she couldn’t hear

As she tried to clamber to the Square

‘Missus will you  hurry up

Before you get creamed by a truck’

‘Don’t make unnecessary journeys’

Weather girl, Teresa Mannion said

Yer one can’t have been right in the head

Were lampshades such an urgent buy?

That she nearly had to die?

In Tallaght on that stormy day

When Dessie blew them far away

The lights turned red and we drove on

We don’t know what happened to yer one

The last we saw  in the howling gale

Was her clinging to the roadside rail

As tears flowed freely down our cheeks

And we laughed so much we couldn’t speak

We’re not evil, in fact we’re kind

And normally we wouldn’t find

Amusement in someone else’s pain

As they suffered in the cold and rain

Our sadness on that December day

Made us behave in such a way

We’d just lost someone that we love

Someone watching from above

The day that she was laid to rest

Our Wonder Woman, one of the best

Sarah turned our tears to laughter

As we watched yer one run after

Her twin lampshades that she had bought

They were never to be caught

I pray her injuries were minor

And the shades blew down to Crossmolina

Many journeys were made that day

The day our Wonder Woman flew away…

 

sarah mammy wonder woman

 

 

 

 

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sarah, our wonder woman :)

  1. sepultura13 says:

    I remember when you first posted this, and I think the post is why I began following your blog! Sarah looks like she was fun – a riot to be around! I’m digging through some photographs of friends of mine that I’ve lost touch with and want to find again…life is too damned short, and I want to appreciate the ones who touched my life for the better!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

