Rita’s brain

 

 

Has anybody seen my brain?

I really think I’m going insane

I only had it yesterday

But now it has gone away

I’ve searched up high, I’ve searched down low

I’ve no clue where it would go

It was with me when I went to the shops

To buy potatoes and pork chops

Then I bought some mince instead

…now where was I? I’ve lost me thread

Oh yeah, ¬†that’s right…me brain,

Losing it is such a pain

I don’t know whether I’m coming or going

There’s so much to-ing and so much fro-ing

My daughter, who is such a cynic

Brought me to the memory clinic

She insisted on coming there with me

In case I got lost you see

But sure she’s as bad as me, because

She couldn’t remember where it was

She asked me, but I hadn’t a clue

Says I ‘sure that’s why I brought you’

I blame it all on the men in my life

That’s why I’m no longer a wife

It doesn’t help having meniere’s

Sometimes I feel like no on cares

Strangers seem to look through me

As I fight a disease they can’t see

No wonder my poor brain is lost

But I must find it at any cost

I was shopping earlier in the Square

Maybe I left it over there

I went to Dealz to buy face wipes

But instead I bought the other type

They were so soft and so much  finer

Turns out they were for my vagina

Please, if you see a stray brain

On the bus or on the train

It could be even on the Luas

Because travelling makes me so confused

Please treat it with some dignity

Then, bring my brain back home to me.

 

Ritas brain

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in AtoZ 2016 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rita’s brain

  1. RITA CROWE says:

    Hi Trish ,ye mad thing lol it’s so funny love it xxx Rita

Leave a Reply

