Mammywammy

M (1)

This is an edited version of a poem I wrote a few years ago when mam was only in her eighties and the girls were still alive. We had great nights out and weekends away over the years. Mam doesn’t drink much now, just the odd glass of port. But back in the day, she enjoyed  a few gin and tonics and a glass of wine with dinner. She always said the same thing when we were out ‘Don’t be telling anyone how old I am’….

 

‘Do you know how old I am’?

A line often heard from my mam

She’s been saying it since she was sixty five

She’s nearly ninety one now – and still alive

When we’d go out to places

She’d look at other people’s faces

It didn’t matter where we were

She’d think they were looking at her

‘Don’t tell them how old I am’ she’d say

We’d just smile and look away

Because we knew after a couple of gins

She herself would be full of grins

She’d nod at strangers with a smile

And after chatting to them for a while

They’d all know how old she was

And they weren’t told by one of us

We’d try to keep our smiles hidden

As she bragged about her eleven children

‘These are my daughters, you know I have eight

Everyone of them are great’

Then she’d go on to tell

‘I have three boys at home as well’

The stranger always looked surprised

That she had a family of that size

‘You only look like their sister’ they’d say

That always made her day

And the response they’d get from my mam…

‘Ah stop, do you know how old I am ?

mammywammy

 

 

 

 

 

 

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in AtoZ 2016 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mammywammy

  1. Ruth says:

    Lovely poem, Trish… xxx

  2. sepultura13 says:

    Perfect…I love it! Great photo, too.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

