Finding things to write about

F (1)

Finding things to write about

Is not an easy thing

I’m no Emily Bronté

Sylvia Plath or Gertrude Stein

A poem a day sounds easy

How hard can it be?

Each day a different letter

From A right down to Zee

Should I write a sonnet

Free verse or a haiku?

A Limerick or an epic

An ode or a rondeau?

I’m not a fan of tankas

Can’t be arsed with villanelle

A sestina is too complicated

As is a pastoral

I think the best that I can do

Is wing it day by day

And see what I come up with

It is the only way

So I hope that you’ll bear with me

On my alphabetic trip

As I stumble on from A to Z

Without a plot or  script…

And so I lay me down to sleep

To dream of Goats or Golden Gees

Or any bloody other thing

That begins with the letter G.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in AtoZ 2016 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding things to write about

  1. Shilpa Garg says:

    Aha! That’s a lovely one. You have found a lot to write about. Looking forward to G now 🙂

Leave a Reply

