Duvet days

D (1)

I rip the covers from the bed

And in my head

I know it is a big mistake

I am only half awake, as

I throw them on the floor

By the door

I realise now it is too late

As the mattress sags beneath my weight

I cannot wait a moment more

I am not a lover

of making beds

It is the chore that I most dread

I should have left my duvet

for another day

But for now, I will lay my head

Awhile upon my unmade bed

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in AtoZ 2016, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Duvet days

  1. I seldom make my bed either. 🙂 Visiting from atoz

Leave a Reply

