Christmas Panic

christmas jumper1

 

Shopping Shopping

Frantic shopping

Got to do my Christmas shopping

Got to get an Xbox,

A flicker and some Christmas socks

The youngest wants a new Ipad

A woolly jumper for me Dad

For the baby; tickling Elmo

Buy a Barbie, but not Ken…Hello!

Got to get a big dolls house

Got to get a Mickey Mouse

Got to go clean my own house

Cleaning, cleaning, frantic cleaning

Got to  get a wriggle on

Got to get the Hoover on

Windows need a damn good washing

All the floors need a mopping

Have to clean out all the cupboards

Start to feel like Mother Hubbard
Make a list and check it twice

Don’t stop to think about the price

Cannot leave the cupboards bare

Go late night shopping to the Square

Food shop food shop

Gotta shop until I drop

Twenty five selection boxes,

God knows how many tins of Foxes
Foil wrapped luxury biscuits

Tesco own brand? I wouldn’t risk it

Got to buy a full ham,

A turkey, a leg of lamb

Brussels’ sprouts and other veg

Glad I didn’t take the pledge

I really need some alcohol

What’s it all about at all?

Crackers, crackers,

I think that I am going crackers

Got to buy some Christmas crackers

Tinsel for the Christmas tree

Haven’t time to stop for tea

Don’t forget the mince pies

To make my own would not be wise

That was grannies one suggestion

After last year’s indigestion

Two nights in Tallaght on a trolley

That Christmas wasn’t very jolly

Thought it was a heart attack

No way this year we’re going back

Into town, into town

Get the Luas into town

My head once more is in a spin

I should be in the loony bin

Checking off my Christmas list

Keep thinking there’s something I’ve missed

I try to write my Christmas cards

Get off and head to St. Bernard’s

Buy ten rolls of wrapping paper

Then buy some more, that would be safer

Up Grafton Street to shop some more

I’m worn out going store to store

Lie down, Lie down

Got to have a lie down

Before I go back into town

Got to finish Christmas shopping

Keep on going, don’t keep stopping

Shopping never is complete

Until we go down to Moore Street

You know that it’s never too early,

to go and get your cheeky Charlie’s

Flowers from the dealers

Hiding from the peelers

When buying cheap cigarettes

Getting myself into debt

Breaking into a cold sweat

I get myself into a knot

I still think there’s something I’ve forgot

Every year is just the same

I think that I’m going insane
Wine time wine time

Don’t forget to buy the wine

For when I have to entertain

Don’t forget the pink Champagne

The Merlot and the Cabernet

Rosé  Shiraz Chardonnay

Sherry and some Sauvignon

Burgundy and Roussillon

Better get me ma some Brandy

A drop of port would be quite handy

You know there isn’t much time left

This shopping has my head wrecked

Christmas has me on the brink

Sure it’s no wonder that I drink

As I cross things off my list

I just feel like getting pissed

Thank God it’s only once a year

The fat man and his eight reindeer

Come  down from the starry skies

To drink my booze and eat my pies

My freezer’s full, the gifts are wrapped

My energy is truly sapped

My house now clean my shopping done

I feel there’s still more to be done

I wrack my brains trying to remember

And thank  the Lord it’s still November!

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Christmas Panic

  1. Pingback: Christmas Panic | dublinhousewife

  2. I’m exhausted just reading that, but what a great check list for Christmas. Easy to remember and it’s only November!
    Great stuff.

  3. lbeth1950 says:

    Boy, just the poem wore me out! Glad you posted your lovely photo.

  4. datatater says:

    Thank you for that! I was just starting to think that maybe this year I shouldn’t be such a Scrooge/Grinch, and now you’ve reminds me why I AM.
    That poem will make smile for the rest of the festive season!

  5. dray0308 says:

    Reblogged this on Dream Big, Dream Often and commented:
    Introducing Trish Nugent, Writer!!

Leave a Reply

