Zee or Zed?

Here we are on the final day of AtoZ blogging and of course I have to finish with a drunken poem. I do believe they are the best kind  🙂

In America it is pronounced zee. In Ireland we call it zed.  Whichever way you pronounce it, I was still tipsy.

I spent a lovely evening with my sister Dee and some wine. I only had one more post to complete my blogging challenge, and rather than wait until morning, I put pen to paper, and this is what came out after several bottles. When I read it this morning I laughed at the drunken ditty and thought I should write something new, but then I thought…sod it. I like it. So here is Z, written by me and Dee . ( Completely unedited)   🙂

Z

The final post

The one I feared the most

The last day of my A to Zed

This is the one I dread

Twenty five days have past me by

I sat, I wrote, I did not ask why

Why do I feel the need

To complete this blogging deed

I just had to write

I also hoped that I might

Meet new friends, New followers of me

As I posted each day, for all to see

Some letters  they were easier to do

Others were harder  than passing poo when constipated

Still I waited, for inspiration

I searched in desperation

For words relating to the letter of the day

But now I say

What rhymes with  zed

It could be head or led or bed

Or should I call it zee

And rhyme with free or bee or see

Or even Dee, my sister who sits here with me

She came to visit for three days

But decided after four, that she would stay

To spend more time with family

With mammywammy, brothers, sisters and me

Now after consuming several bottles of wine

I think that it is time

To go to bed, lay my head

Down to sleep

Before I go too deep

Into my final blogging post

The very one I feared the most

The one I had to write

On the very night

I spent with Dee

Who (still) sits here with me

We raise our glass to toast

Friends and family who we love the most

Goodbye, farewell my blogging friends

Thank you for sticking with me to the end

Now, I shall take my leave

But, do believe

That I will return some day soon

But I am tired so it could be as late as June

All hail the letter Z, be it zee or zed

Goodnight, now I am off to bed

me and Dee

Dee and me 🙂

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Zee or Zed?

  1. A fitting finale to a marathon of entertaining writing (and reading at our end). Thanks for helping to make April 2015 a great month.

  2. carolannwrites says:

    Congratulations, Trish! Wouldn’t have been right not to finish it off without glass in hand! Thank you for the entertainment! Keep writing!

  3. Teresa Hatfield says:

    Well done Trish, enjoy reading everything you write with or without wine

Leave a Reply

