Voyager

V

My Da was friends with Hedy Lamarr

And lots of other movie stars

When we went for Sunday drives

He’d chat about them in the car

With a misty look in his eye

John Wayne, Bob Hope, Myrna Loy

Clarke Gable, Betty Grable

I don’t know how he was able to remember them all

When Paul Heinrid lit up Bette Davis’ smoke in ‘Now Voyager’

He’d shout at the telly ’Ah now the film is over,

Sure it’s well known fact, that woman can’t act’

As for Miss Rogers…

‘Dance for your life’ he’d warn Mr. Fred Astair

‘Ginger is not letting you go anywhere

Ingrid Bergman, ya gotta thank her

She was the business in Casablanca, with Bogey

She gave it her all but you know off set he only had eyes for Bacall’

Yeah, Da knew them all

I think of him when I watch the old movie stars and

when we go for Sunday drives in the car

I wonder what he’d make of the stars today

I think that he’d like Daniel Day

But Bruce Willis, George and Brad,

They would surely drive him mad

I can almost hear him now

Going on and on about how

‘They just don’t make them like they did back then’

…Play it Sam, play it again.

WP_20150423_001

My Da 🙂

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in A to Z 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Voyager

  1. Ruth says:

    Nice post, Trish – made me smile 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

