Queue

Q

Twenty people in the queue before me to see the doctor. I took my seat and prepared to wait all day. I didn’t mind. It was quiet, no kids no aul fellas coughing and moaning.

I thought of the pile of ironing sitting on the table. I thought of the unmade beds and the unhoovered stairs, and without a trace of guilt I sat back and opened my book.

I was barely on the second page when two women behind me started chatting about their kids. Then the pair in front of me began comparing notes on their arthiritis. Fuck that, I wasn’t in the mood for listening to other people discussing their ailments. All I wanted was a bit of peace and quiet to read my book while I waited for the doctor.

‘I hear Twink got her dog back’ say’s the one behind me. ‘That’s shocking having your dog kidnapped like that’ said her friend. Oh please I thought as I tried to get past page three, who gives a shite about Twink and her dog. ‘Did you pay your water bill yet’  the one in front asked her neighbour. ‘I did in my hole’ she replied. ‘Sure aren’t we paying for it already in our taxes. I did pay the property tax though’. ‘Ah sure you’d have to pay your property tax’.

All was quiet for about five minutes until two young girls with babies in buggies came in to join the queue. ‘Ah isn’t she lovely’ ‘thanks’ ‘How old is she?’ ‘Six months’ ‘She’s big for six months isn’t she?’ ‘Ah she never stops feeding. Hungers mother she is; how old is your little fella?’ ‘Nine months, he’s still very colicky tho’, I thought I’d bring him in to see the doctor, see if he can give him anything. He has me up all night’. ‘Same here love. I’m bleedin’ wrecked’.

I was bleedin’ wrecked listening to them. Then the babies started crying.

They were all wrecking my buzz. The doctors  waiting room was usually a haven of peace and quiet for me. People didn’t usually engage in conversation. They sat quietly reading and minding their own business. I normally enjoyed it. It was a few hours off from kids and housework.

The door opened and another crying baby came in with his mother, who also had a whinging toddler in tow.

Needless to say, it was a long wait and not very quiet 😦

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in A to Z 2015 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

