Gee Gees

G

Bank holiday Monday in the pub

The grand nationals on the telly

We place our bets for Fairhouse

Before we fill our bellies

After roast of the day and a feed of pints

We study the form with intent

Before we select our favourites

For the big racing event

He places a fiver to win

I choose two euro each way

I think I’ve a better chance

Of a win at the end of the day

One horse is enough for him

I of course back four

I reckon if the first one falls

I’ll still have three more

Five pm and the race begins

We roar and shout and cheer

My heart stops as they jump each fence

I order another beer

The excitement it is mighty

As they head for the final straight

His horse romps in at number four

Mine  –  fifth, sixth, seventh and eight

‘I told you to place each way’ says I

You would have won a hundred or two

‘Too late to worry about that now’ says he

‘Sure look how each way worked for you’!

geegees

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gee Gees

  1. Freya says:

    ha ha ha. You win some, you lose some 😀

Leave a Reply

