Dressed to kill

D

…continued from yesterdays  ‘C is for Coppers’

I  was left waiting in the interrogation room for almost an hour before a plain clothes detective came in a sat opposite me.‘So, Carla he says ‘can you tell me about the chap in the black polo neck you were talking to tonight?’ the copper asked me  ‘I can tell you my name is not Carla, he was a fine thing, he lit my cigarette…end of story.’ I said.

‘…and have you arranged to meet him again?’’In my dreams love’ I said. ‘Chaps like him don’t arrange meetings with girls like me’.’And what kind of girl are you Carla?’ he said;

It was the way he looked at me, made me go scarlet.

‘My name isn’t Carla and will you stop looking at my chest’ I replied. ‘You’re giving me a complex’. I knew it was a mistake to wear this blouse .I thought of my ma again. Mammies are always right aren’t they?

‘It’s a nice blouse’ he said. ‘It suits you. ‘Look love’ I said, covering my chest with my handbag.  ‘Why am I here? My whole night is ruined and my friends are probably wondering where I am’.

‘We’ve been watching you and Georgie and his gang for the past few weeks Carla, but now Georgie is dead and you were the last one to speak with him and we want to know…’

‘…My name is not bloody Carla and who’s this Georgie fella?

‘Don’t play games with me Carla. We know Georgie was your pimp, now just tell me…’

‘…my pimp? The bloody cheek of you. Why would I have a pimp? Do I look like a hooker to you?’

‘Well if the boots fit Carla’ he said looking down at my legs. I tried pulling my skirt down but it wouldn’t come past my bum. I caught my reflection in the glass behind him.’ Oh holy Mother of divine , the state of me. Panti Bliss eat your heart out I thought. I needed to get home and out of these clothes.

Wait until I saw Laura. This was all her fault.‘You need to get out of your comfort zone Liz, out of your flowery skirts and jumpers.’ I’d never go shopping with her again.

His mobile phone rang and he took it from his pocket,

‘Hello, hiya Martin, yeah, yeah, yeah. What? Holy fuck. When? …and you’re only ringing me now? Where is she? Right, I’ll be out in a minute’.

‘What’s up?’ I asked. ‘Can I ring my ma, she’ll be waiting up for me. She never goes to bed until I get home , and…

‘You can go’ he said. ‘What? Just like that. You keep me locked up for hours for no reason and now all of a sudden I can go, with no explanation’.

‘Don’t exaggerate love This isn’t C.S.I. Miami’ he said. ‘You weren’t locked up. You’ve been here for an hour and a half. Most of it you’ve spent moaning about wanting to go home, so now you can go…Home’.

I grabbed my bag and headed for the door. ‘You’ll be hearing from my brief’ I shouted back down the hallway

‘You can’t treat me like some hooker and then tell me to go home without an explanation.’

Once outside, I stuck a fag between my lips and rummaged for my lighter as a squad car pulled up beside me. A pair of legs clad in fuck me boots emerged from the back seat. Looking up, I came face to face with … myself wearing a leopard print skirt, pink chiffon blouse and hair back combed to fuck.

‘Move it Carla’ said a copper as he pushed her through the door. ‘Snap’ said Carla and gave a deep throated laugh after looking me up and down. ‘Nice blouse love, suits you’

I swear, my jaw visibly dropped as I noticed Carlas five o’clock shadow.

Flicking the cigarette over my shoulder, I hailed a taxi and I swore … I will never shop in Penney’s again, and I’ll always listen to my ma.

boots and leopard print

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in A to Z 2015 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dressed to kill

  1. freya3377 says:

    Enjoyed the followup Trish… 🙂

Leave a Reply

