Black Dog

B

 

 

 

 

 

 

He sat at night by my bedside

Watched silently as I cried

Walked with me throughout the day

As I smiled and laughed away

Watched from the shadows as I made a joke

Even though my heart was broke

Moved closer to me everyday

Never very far away

Sensing things were not alright

When I saw darkness beyond the light

When I thought that no one cared

When I felt lost, alone and scared

Behind my mask a troubled soul

Feelings I could not control

Until I began to share

With friends who showed how much they cared

I embraced the love of family

I saw how close they were to me

Gradually, out of the gloom

Flickers of light entered my room

As they got brighter everyday

I sensed the black dog slink away.

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in A to Z 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Black Dog

  1. Moving piece Trish. Very real. Nice work.

  2. Thanks Adrian. A bit dark, but tomorrow is brighter :p

  3. carolannwrites says:

    B is for beautiful, Trish! Love it!

  4. Jacintha Ward says:

    Very moving Trish xx

  5. Carmel Wilmot says:

    This is a beautiful piece of writing Trish xx

  6. Ruth says:

    Wow, beautiful – I’ve also written a poem titled ‘The Black Dog’ on my original, now dormant blog – it seems that great minds think alike!
    https://quietcalliope.wordpress.com/2014/03/06/the-black-dog/

Leave a Reply

