V is for…Vicarstown

Vicarstown

 

Today I’m going to cheat just a bit. As I don’t have any memories of places beginning with V,I am sharing my mam’s memories of when she was a child.  🙂

                              Mam’s memories

 

My Mother loved to sing and dance, she also played the melodeon at every given chance. I remember her and my dad, my brothers and my sister had such fun when growing up.

When my mammy died, I really missed her. I was only eleven, my sister was six, and my brothers were in between.

Every summer after that, we went down the country to stay with Auntie Josie and Uncle Dan in Vicarstown.We’d get the train from Heuston Station and Uncle Dan picked us up at Monasterevin.We’d climb up on the pony and trap and trundle down the lane to the farm where Auntie Josie waited. 

pony and trapEvery year was the same. We’d be woken at the crack of dawn each morning .Before breakfast I’d collect the eggs; so tired, but excited too. Delighted to be away from the confines of the one bed roomed flat in Rialto.

We had the same dinner every day – bacon and potatoes.The meat cut down from the shed where it hung; potatoes were collected in a big bucket from the fields.We were always so hungry we’d eat every bite, and wash it down with cups of buttermilk.There were very few scraps left for the pigs to eat.

Uncle Dan would head of to set the traps for some unfortunate rabbit. That would be our dinner for Sunday.This was the only change in the weekly menu. Sometime, but rarely; we’d have a couple of chickens.Summer ended all to quickly and it was time to go home to Dublin and back to school, but we had Christmas to look forward to, and the lovely big goose that Uncle Dan would send for Christmas dinner.Now there was a treat  🙂

goose

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in A2Z blogging challenge 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

