School ( St. Pauls)

St. Pauls

 

 

I remember when my mam said she was sending me to a new school; I was devastated.

 

I was only eleven. I didn’t want to go. I had lots of friends. I was good in school, never in trouble.

 

Mam said the new school was much nicer. There were fewer pupils in each class than my old school; they wore a lovely uniform. I’d make lots of new friends she said. I still didn’t want to go.

 

At my school, we didn’t wear a uniform and I liked having lots of girls in my class; although it did get a bit rowdy at times, and the queue for lunch was always huge.

 

I started my new school the following September. It was miles away. At first, Mam gave me and my sister a lift in her car. Then we had to start getting the bus. It took us ages to get there. While I was standing at the bus stop in the cold, my old friends were only getting up; they could walk to school, just like I used to. I missed walking to school.

 

As for the uniform; it was bottle green. I hated it.

 

It took me ages to settle in. I missed all of my pals. I still saw them after school, but it wasn’t the same. They got home ages before me and by the time I had my dinner and went out to play, it was nearly time to come back in again.

 

As time went by, I drifted apart from my old friends. I saw them less and less. I stopped missing them.  I grew to love my new school. I made lots of new friends and, I even got to like the uniform.

 

That was over forty years ago and I still have the same friends today. I wouldn’t be without them.

 

schoolies2bronagh and trish me and Edwina schoolies 1schoolies5

 

It just goes to show you…your mammy is always right  🙂

 

 

 

 

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in A2Z blogging challenge 2014 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to School ( St. Pauls)

  1. Oh that’s lovely. As I read the post, I had a feeling you were going to describe something unpleasant. Glad it worked out well. I love how you ended your post 🙂

  2. ChristineR says:

    At secondary school my uniform was a bottle green blazer and bowler hat with a grey tunic for winter and a mattress ticking dress for summer. The bottle green stripe on white always made me think of mattress covers. 😀

Leave a Reply

