N is for Nelly’s Room :)

I’d like to apologise for still not being up to date with my A2Z blog. ( I’m trying. I’m trying)

Here goes with the letter ‘N’ and Dublin wit at it’s best

For those of you not from Dublin, I’d like to explain about Nelly’s room. When I was growing up and an item could not be found and you asked someone had they seen it.  A common smart arse response was ”Did you look up in Nelly’s room behind the wallpaper?” In other words, they hadn’t a clue where your lost shoe/sock/earring was and they couldn’t actually care less either 🙂 A lot of misplaced items remained forever behind the wallpaper in Nelly’s room.

 

searching

 

 

Up in Nelly’s room behind the wallpaper

 

”I lost my specs, they can’t be found

 I must have dropped them on the ground”

Me ma she’s such a scatterbrain

She probably left them on the train

”Did you look up in Nelly’s room behind the wallpaper?’

My shot at sarcasm did not escape her

We searched up high,

We searched down low

But we didn’t really have that far to go

As she left the room to go to bed

 I spied them sitting on her head!

 

Trish Nugent©

 

 

specs

 

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in A2Z blogging challenge 2014 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to N is for Nelly’s Room :)

  1. Mars says:

    Love the idea of Nellie’s room, our sarcasm is usually “wherever you’ve left it” 🙂

    Mars visiting from A to Z
    Curling Stones for Lego People

Leave a Reply

