M is for Mammywammy’s

I’m doing my best to catch up with my A2Z  🙂

The best place to be with my family. Mammy’s house, or Mammywammy’s as we call it 🙂

She’ll kill me for writing about her so….ssssssshhhh  🙂

146

Do you know how old I am?
A line often heard from my mam
She’s been saying it since she was sixty five
She’s now eighty eight – and still alive
When we’d go out to places
She’d look at other peoples faces
It didn’t matter where we were
She’d think they were looking at her
‘Don’t tell them how old I am’ she’d say
We’d just smile and look away
Because we knew after a couple of gins
She herself would be full of grins
She’d nod and smile and say out loud
To everybody in the crowd
‘These are my daughters, you know I have eight
Everyone of them are great
Do you think I look like their mam?
Do you know how old I am ?

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to M is for Mammywammy’s

  1. deirdre says:

    im telling ma on you!!! im nearly ninety don’t you know! hee hee

  2. Oh that’s so delightful! Reminds me of my (now late) great grandmother, who lived to be a 100 years old!

  3. Shhhh Dee :p Thanks for stopping by Aarthi . Looks like mam will be here until she’s over a 100 🙂

Leave a Reply

