Hacketstown

Hacketstown

 

 

                Gooseberry Fool

 

Blue skies, a sunny afternoon picking gooseberries

In the haggard behind the cottage in Hacketstown

Hard, green, slightly unripe

I bit through the hairy skin

Sour juice dripped down my chin

‘You’ll get cramps’ my mother warned

I didn’t listen.

I ate more than was placed in the wicker basket.

It was a long and bumpy drive back to Dublin

‘I feel sick’ I groaned from the back seat

‘You never listen to your mother’ said my great aunt sitting up front

We’re almost there’ said mam ‘hold on’

I threw up the gooey green mess on great aunt Nan’s best coat

As we crossed Rialto Bridge

‘I couldn’t hold on mam’ I cried

I sat back in my seat

A gooseberry fool.

 

 gooseberries

 

 

 

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in A2Z blogging challenge 2014, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hacketstown

  1. Carol says:

    Yuck, but I really enjoyed the poem.

    http://carolsnotebook.com

Leave a Reply

