Flamingos Nightclub

 

70's disco

I was seventeen. Saturday night fever had hit town and I was in the mood for dancing.

I had big hair and a bigger attitude. The world was mine for the taking and I was ‘Staying Alive’ every weekend at Flamingos nightclub. I was ‘ More than a Woman’.

I strutted with my friends in my golden skin tight jeans as we were ‘Jive Talking’ and boogying on down to ‘Manhattan Skyline’.

Then the lights went down and it was time for the slow set. ‘How deep is your love?’ smooched some Tony Manero  wannabe as he flashed his pearly white teeth and gold medallion.

‘If I can’t have you,I don’t want nobody baby’ I’d belt out as he spun me around the dance floor beneath the glittering disco ball.

I eagerly awaited the ‘Disco Inferno’.

 

Gold trousers

 

 

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in A2Z blogging challenge 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flamingos Nightclub

Leave a Reply

