Scene Stealers

Scene Stealers are performing for two nights in Rua Red theatre in Tallaght this June.
We are rehearsing furiously.We’ve had some laughter and tears along the way but I know as always ‘It will be alright on the night’. 🙂

Scene stealers in Echo

With script in hand I learn my lines

Read it over and over a hundred times.

I pace the floor while I recite

All of the day, and half of the night

I take a break to go for a wee

Then go and have a cup of tea.

Come back and read it through again

Can I ever get it through my brain?

Scene one,I definitely know it all

Scene two, some words I can recall

Scene three is really becoming a bore

Thank God there isn’t a scene four.

Dress rehearsal, I’m definitely ready

A shot of rum keeps my nerves steady.

I pace the floor while I recite

It will be alright on the night

I look out at the empty seats

Feel the excitement and my heart beats

So fast I think I’m going to faint

But carry on without complaint.

Scene one, I listen for my cue

Scene two, I really need the loo

Scene three, I’m looking for a back door

Thank God there isn’t a scene four.

Opening night, no turning back

Backstage I’m having a panic attack

I pace the floor while I recite

Who said it would be alright on the night?

Out front the audience take their seats

I take a breath as my heart beats.

This time I know that it’s for real

My nervousness I can’t conceal

Scene one,I hear the curtain call

Scene two,onstage I give my all

Scene three,as the crowd cry out for more

I really wish there was a scene four.

Trish Nugent

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scene Stealers

  1. Valerie says:

    Sounds like you’re having fun. Hope it goes well 🙂

Leave a Reply

