Zhivago…where love stories begin :)

Z  …Day 26. Last day of A to Z blogging challenge.

I have seven sisters and three brothers.It was not a quiet household.I shared a bedroom with my sisters.Four of us to a bed.

My best memories are of lying in bed watching my sisters get ready to go dancing at the weekend, and also of us all singing in bed at night time before going to sleep. The nightclubs they went to were ; Sloopys,Lord Johns,The Revolution and of course….Z is for Zhivagos  🙂

Z is also for zzzzzzzzzzzz falling asleep singing at night.

girls in bedroom

I loved watching my sisters

Getting ready to go dancing;romancing

They’d sing along  to the Beatles,

Sandy Shaw, Dusty Springfield 

Listen to Radio Luxembourg,

Catherine would sing ‘Downtown

She thought she was Petula Clarke

petula clarke

I’d close my eyes and picture them

going downtown.

To the beat of the music 

they’d dance in basement nightclubs

And sipped martinis

drinking martinis

I didn’t know what a martini was,

But it sounded lovely.

‘Where are you going?’ I’d ask

‘To Zhivagos’ Joan would say

‘Where love stories begin’

Lily and Catherine would laugh.

zhivago niteclub

At the sound of a horn beeping,

They’d run down the stairs

and out the door.

I’d lie across the bed

with Enda and Barbara

Stick our heads out the window

and watch them 

clamber into the back seat

of some ‘aul banger.

Amid fits of laughter,

they’d speed down the road

in a hail of cigarette smoke

and exhaust fumes

lots of people in car

We’d get into bed and sing.

We all live in a yellow submarine.’

‘Roses are red my love, violets are blue..ooh ooh….’

I loved the ‘ooh ooh’ part.  🙂

I couldn’t wait to be old enough

To dance in Zhivagos and fall in love.

couple dancing in 60's

When Deirdre came home,

she’d sing Leonard Cohen songs.

We’d let her sing a few verses of

Suzanne takes me down to a place by the river

before butting in with

Row row row your boat, gently down the stream…’

We’d laugh when someone

sang the ‘merrily merrily’ part too soon

Da would shout up to tell us to go asleep

‘You’ll wake the baby’

Annette slept in the cot in mammys room.

We’d stay quiet for a while,

then start singing again …

Monsieur Dupont..la la la la…Monsieur Dupont..la la la la‘.

The la la’s got louder and louder

as we tried to out sing each other.

We sang until we fell asleep

Hours later,the nightclubbers

would sneak back up the stairs.

Whispering and gigglling

as they removed their make up

with ponds cold cream

before getting undressed

and climbing into bed in the dark.

I’d listen to them recall the nights events.

dancing in the sixties

Who they met.

What fella asked them up to dance.

What the other girls were wearing.

I’d pretend to be asleep

Until they put cold feet on my back.

I’d let a roar and they’d shush me up,

Afraid of getting into trouble

for coming in so late.

‘Did any love stories begin?’ I’d ask.

‘Not tonight sis’ they’d say ‘not tonight’

We’d snuggle in together and sing –

...Merrily merrily merrily merrily,

Life is but a dream  🙂

feet in bed

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in April AtoZ Blogging challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Zhivago…where love stories begin :)

  1. carolannwrites says:

    Can’t believe that’s it! A to Z over. But not for you! You’re just gettin goin! More…

  2. I’m sad it’s over…but I think my poems have lost their Zaniness 😦

  3. Thanks for the memories, Trish particularly of Zhivagos.

Leave a Reply

