Ultrasound

I was there for the first scan of my sweet baby James when his daddy was in Australia. …and he really did wave at me  🙂

baby-in-womb

Hands up in the air, waving at us
As if to say ‘what’s all the fuss
Hello, is it me
That you’ve come to see

Where’s my dad, did he not come today
Why is he so far away
He’ll be home soon, but until then
I see my granny’s standing in.

Mammy seems happy, so don’t know why
She suddenly starts to cry
She says ‘I cannot believe what I see
your little hands waving at me’.

Your life has already begun
On the way.. a daughter or son
Boy or girl.. we don’t know yet
We wont find out until we’ve met.

Not long now, the months will fly
You’ll be here in the blink of an eye
But I look forward to the next scan
When maybe you’ll wave at your other gran.

So roll on the month of July
Birthday of a girl or boy
A day I know you’ll be so glad
To meet your happy Mam and Dad.

proud parents

 

 

 

 

 

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in April AtoZ Blogging challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ultrasound

  1. Lovely piece Trish, love it!

  2. Jessica says:

    I’ve enjoyed your blog. I love that your poems tell a story!

    Have fun with the rest of a-z. 🙂

Leave a Reply

