Tropical Moments

T

For all you ladies of a certain age.I present day 20.

hotflashes

I’m hot, I’m cold.
Not young, not old.
I toss and turn
My cheeks they burn.
At night I sweat
And I forget
Things so mundane
Sometimes my name
My bones they ache
My body shakes
My ankles swell
I’m going through hell
Libido loss
Who gives a toss
Just give me cake
or a bloody steak

To be a man
must be better than
Incontinence
And abstinence
The swinging moods
Craving for foods
That make me bloat
Constrict my throat

I blow into a paper bag
Then go outside to have a fag
The doctor has a cure for me
He’s put me on the HRT.

hrt

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in April AtoZ Blogging challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tropical Moments

  1. carolannwrites says:

    Ahh Trish… When’s the book coming? I could read these for ever!

  2. Ah thanks Carolann. I don’t know about a book. These are all just a bit of craic. I doubt they would sell a book. God knows what I’m going to write for x y and z. I have U ready and working on V .I have ideas for W πŸ™‚ Thanks for all your comments, they are very encouraging and keep me going πŸ™‚

  3. kscollier1 says:

    I enjoyed the post, and laughed my butt off. Man, could I relate. It sucks being a woman sometimes, and it sucks getting old. For sure getting old is not for the weak.

  4. I still wouldn’t be a man !! thanks for comment Kathy. I couldn’t find you on twitter. Please send me your link..I’ve followed your blog πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

