On the dole

dole queue

I had to go sign on the dole

It was a right pain in the hole.

I suppose I should be glad

Once a month is not too bad,

There is  always a huge queue

But there’s nothing else I can do

But wait with all the other poor sods

Like me who are out of a job

Some days it’s not really funny

You’d think they were paying you from their own money

‘Have you made any attempt to seek employment?’

– No, I just sign on for the enjoyment!

‘Have you applied for work since you last signed on?’

– Yeah, but the jobs are always gone!

‘Are you receiving any other benefits?’

– Yeah, rent allowance to stay at the Ritz

Yer one gave me a dirty look

But you know,I didn’t give a fuck

This feckin’ recession is getting out of hand!

So few jobs,so much demand

Had an interview in McDonalds at nine o’clock

Thought they were all queuing for Big Macs.

Hundreds clutching their CV’s

For a burger flipper in Maccy D’s

There’s nothing for it,before it’s too late

I think I’ll have to emigrate. 😦

aeroplane

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in April AtoZ Blogging challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On the dole

  1. Wow, great poem and funny too. I think we call it Mickey D’s here as opposed to Maccy D’s. I like both.

    Maui Jungalow

Leave a Reply

