Netty

131_0478

My sister

The baby of the family

Blonde bubbly

A bit of a brat

When she was small

Spoiled rotten

By all

Seven of us were older

She was always bolder

She pinched my clothes

When going out

There would be murder

I’d give her a clout

When she got home

We didn’t get on so well

So I’d scream and yell at her

I think I was jealous, cos she was

Daddys little pet

An eighties diva

You better believe it

Depeche mode and

Spandau ballet

Her favourite bands

‘I just cant get enough’

Was obviously written for her

But we became friends… ‘so true’

We laughed and joked

Drank and smoked

Went shopping together

Two years ago

She got bad news

The big C

Came to her and Joan

They were scared

So was I

We didn’t know why

This had happened

So true,funny how it seems

always in time, but never

In line for dreams’

She is still so strong

Carrying on

Singing her eighties songs

So courageous

Outrageous

Living everyday life

A mother a wife

A sister a friend

She doesn’t pretend

She’s brave, she’scared

Still terrified,

But she laughs and smiles

And all the while;

She’s still fighting the fight

With all of her might

Netty, your dreams will come true

And I’ll always be here for you

‘This is the sound of my soul’

131_0452

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in April AtoZ Blogging challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Netty

  1. janine says:

    brill yet again Trish Nuggent you have me in tears. love your writing xxx

  2. auntyamo says:

    lovely! I’m the baby of 8 🙂 xx

  3. carolannwrites says:

    Wonderful, Trish! Heartbreaking though. I can’t imagine what it would be like to lose one of my gorgeous sisters. x

  4. jackie glynn [ collins ] says:

    beautiful trish xxxx

  5. Susan Condon says:

    Missed this first time around – priveleged to read it now.

  6. Trish you just have a way with words..keep up the good work. Xx

  7. Aloha Trish, met up w/ you on #AZchat today and had a bit of a time trying to find your A-Z blog link, but somehow, just bounced around and found it. Nice to find your site and I’ll look around.

    The Big C is humbling. Like a spectre. I’ve had friends with it, and personally, think I would avoid chemo because I’ve heard such bad things about it, but everyone has to do their own thing. I’ve done a lot of research on alternatives to chemo though.

    Maui Jungalow

Leave a Reply

