Lipstick on his collar

lipstick-on-collar-cheating

Frosted pink

The colour my Granny used to wear

She’s been dead five years

So I knew it wasn’t hers

He said he had a business meeting

He’d be late

I poured another drink

And waited

I knew he’d be reading

Bedtime stories,tucking them in

Saying goodnight to her

Lying to her too

I drop the shirt in the laundry basket

Then go to the bathroom

To freshen up

Livid red…

Now that’s a lipstick.

??????????????????????????????????????

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in April AtoZ Blogging challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lipstick on his collar

  1. Mama J says:

    Very clever poem. I thought she was being cheated on to begin with but it seems he already has a family. Scoundel!

  2. sinderapples says:

    Brilliant as usual Trish ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Susan Condon says:

    Love this Trish ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

