Just another day in paradise

J

daydreaming housewife

The kids are at school, hubbys at work

I’ve decided to take the whole day off

A day to myself with nothing to do.

Days like this are very few

Imagine. A day just for me.

I put the kettle on for a cup of tea

While I wait, I load the washing machine

So happy to be free from my daily routine

I contemplate the day ahead

Then pop upstairs to make the beds

That duvet is in serious need of changing

Bedroom furniture needs rearranging, and

Those windows dont look too clean

I’ll just give them a spray of windolene

I pick up cereal bowls and coffee cups

From under my sons bed,the little pup

I open the windows to air the room,and

To let out the smelly fumes

…Maybe I’ll have a manicure

Have my eyebrows waxed, oh… and a pedicure 🙂

Should I go get a colour in my hair

Go shopping for something new to wear

I bring the bedclothes down to the washing machine

The whites must be just finishing their final spin.

Oh what luxury to have a day carefree

A special day, just for me.

After I hang the washing on the line

I press the switch on the kettle one more time

While dreaming of the things I’ll do

I chop some veg to make a stew

I could go for a nice walk in the park

Or sign up for that zumba class

I spot some cobwebs in the living room

I  go and whip out the vacume

How lucky can one woman be

A day to do whatever, a day just for me

As I head out to the garden to have a read

I see the flowerbed is overgrown with weeds

The pot of tea was never made

I somehow got waylaid

On this special day just for me

I never even had a cup of tea  😦

cup of tea genie

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in April AtoZ Blogging challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

