Entertaining

E

Entertaining

My husband’s boss came to dinner
I was in the kitchen all day,never saw a sinner
I’d been preparing coq au vin
And organising a seating plan
I opened a bottle of Beaujolais
To let it breathe throughout the day
I poured a glass, to give it a try
Just to make sure it wasn’t too dry
I boiled potatoes, chopped some herbs
Had another glass to calm my nerves
As I polished the forks and knives
Trying to impress the other wives,I
Looked at the clock, it was nearly time
To get changed and have a glass of wine
Six o’clock, everything was ready
Topped up my glass, just to keep the nerves steady
The guests arrived we had apperitif’s
Then hubby showed them to their seats
I looked round the table and I could tell
That everything was going well
As we sipped our consommé
Accompanied by some cabernet
I was sure I’d be inundated with requests
For the recipe from my guests
Starters finished, I cleared the table
Went to the kitchen, feeling slightly unstable
As I returned with the main course, garnished with flair
I tripped over the leg of a dining room chair
I fell against the patio door
The chicken hit the ceiling and floor
My vision had become rather blurred
And I’m sure that I overheard
That someone was looking rather squiffy
By then I was feeling a tad iffy.
Hubby looked around in total dismay
I was covered in gravy, in disarray
The wives looked in horror, as I tried to stand
And one of their husbands gave me a hand
I landed on the bosses knee,
Knocking over his glass of Chablis
I headed back to the kitchen to get dessert
Tripped over the cat and lay inert
On the kitchen floor,covered in trifle
I was having trouble trying to stifle
My screams of laughter as I realised
My skirt was up around my thighs
I poured myself a little drink
From the stash under the kitchen sink
Hubby ran in, his face burning red
If we didn’t have guests,I knew I’d be dead
He glared at me sitting on the floor
Then he let out an almighty roar
’What the hell is all the commotion?
You’ve ruined my chances of a promotion’
‘Sorry love’I said, now on my knees
‘Do you think they’re ready for grapes and cheese?’
As I reached for the bottle of Pinot Noir
I fell unconcious on the floor.

11431493-a-cartoon-woman-gets-a-buzz-from-a-glass-of-red-wine

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in April AtoZ Blogging challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Entertaining

  1. Sia says:

    WOw! loved the post! always a little stressful but fun having guests over!

  2. Shilpa Garg says:

    Wow! What an entertaining evening! Loved it! 🙂

  3. Lol!! OMG!! That is hilarious!!! I do a lot of entertaining and hope this is not a foreshadowing of things to come, although it would be VERY funny!! 🙂
    Shirleyisnotmyname

  4. Lisa Wilton says:

    Haha! Love it. A bit desperate housewives… 😀 Great stuff.
    http://ltwilton.com

  5. Thanks everyone.Look forward to popping over to your blogs…just going to pour a glass first 😉

  6. carolannwrites says:

    Falling over laughing!! Or is that the wine… Brilliant!

  7. did it really happen??? 😉

  8. auntyamo says:

    Your bio posts are deffo my faves 😀

    auntyamo
    http://ficticiousamo.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

