Joan

 

Joan

IMG_1140

The funeral is over. We laid you ‘to rest’.

On the edge of a mountain,in your Sunday best

We covered your grave with your favorite flowers

The wake went on ’til the early hours.

We played all of your music. We laughed,we cried.

But I still cant comprehend that you’re gone. You died.

I look at your pictures,see you smile

I feel nothing but an empty space inside.

Life carries on as it did before

I don’t feel that I wont see you anymore

I’ve been out shopping,visiting Mam

I haven’t fallen apart,I feel so calm

Yesterday,I went to your grave

Friends said I was so strong,so brave

But when I looked down at the mound of earth

At the cross with your name on,the date of your death

I still felt nothing,no sadness no grief

No thoughts that your death was a happy release

I looked down from the mountain on a glorious day

And still didn’t believe that you’d gone away

I went to your house,to your family

We sat in your kitchen for a cup of tea

We had a laugh and a bit of a chat

Talking about this and that

It wasn’t the same without you there

I wished that you were just upstairs

Where I could lie beside you on your bed

And we’d chat about the books we read

About books that someday we would write

Or just about what was on telly last night

I looked up at your window as I was leaving

Knowing you weren’t there,still not believing

That I would never see you again

I’m not ready yet to deal with that pain

So for now I’ll carry on like before

Not knowing where you really are

But I know that one day,I’ll realise

That you’re really gone. You really died.

 

 

Trish©

Feb 2013

 

 

 

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Joan

  1. Sam Bohan says:

    Beautifully written Trish. I’m so sorry for your loss. Your sister is watching over you and she is so proud of you. Xx

  2. Lovely words Trish…xx

  3. lynda says:

    oh trish you have make me cry , your sister is so proud of you and she is watching over you , i want to hug you so tight , take care love and hug xxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

