I am a writer.

I am a writer who sometimes sits looking at a blank screen and uses it as an excuse to go peek at Facebook and Twitter . I am a writer who while looking for inspiration, browses utube for long forgotten hits of the seventies.

I am a writer who has such flashes of inspiration at the weirdest times of the day and night that I have to have many notebooks in various places about the house, such as,the bread bin,the utensil drawer,the bathroom window sill and under my pillow.I also keep one in the glove compartment of my car and several  in a multitude of handbags, so I can jot down these marvellous thoughts.

I am a writer who writes on the back of menus, bus tickets and cigarette packs when said notebooks are not to hand.

I am a writer who listens to strangers conversations on buses and at supermarket check outs. I eavesdrop eagerly to  gossip in pub toilets and on airport queues, squirrelling away these golden nuggets for when the blank page looks at me again and I no longer have an excuse to sneak off to tweet… unless it is to relay said gossip to fellow twitterati.

I am a writer who some days actually gets the ironing done while looking at aforementioned blank screen and listening to Joe Duffy on the radio while jotting down juicy snippets.

I am a writer who writes everyday,even when I don’t have much to say. Oh, and did I mention? ‘I am a writer’

About trishnugentwriter

A wife and mother of four who writes and acts as much as she can in between the housework and shopping. I have been published in 'Irelands Own' 'Intallaght' and 'Tallaght Echo'. I have won prizes for poetry including 1st place in The Bealtaine Writing comp in 2012.I'm a member of drama group in 'An Cosan' in Tallaght and also 'Platform One' Writers group in Rua Red.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I am a writer.

  1. me too!!! love this blog!

Leave a Reply

